Skip to content Skip to navigation

About Us

The Stanford Environmental and Energy Policy Analysis Center (SEEPAC) was established in 2011 to develop practical and economically viable solutions to the pressing energy and environmental problems facing 21st Century societies.  SEEPAC undertakes and disseminates research that can help decision makers shape environmental and energy policy.  Beyond discovering innovative solutions to problems, SEEPAC aims to influence policy decisions through close interaction with state, federal and global decision makers.

SEEPAC is a joint venture of the Precourt Institute for Energy at Stanford and the Stanford Institute for Economic Policy Research.  This joint sponsorship underscores one of SEEPAC’s goals:  to build bridges across disciplines and between the academic and policy communities.

SEEPAC’s economists and other social scientists apply quantitative analysis to policy problems that are informed by interactions with engineers and natural scientists.  SEEPAC researchers range from graduate students to postdoctoral fellows to resident senior academics to visiting distinguished faculty to visiting policy makers.  The whole exceeds the sum of its parts.

SEEPAC’s research is highly relevant to policy makers. Consequently, we consider communication and outreach efforts important to making the research effective.  These efforts will help inform journalists and policy makers of our work and also ensure that our researchers are aware of challenges facing policy makers. Its base at Stanford University enables SEEPAC scholars to collaborate on problems in person as well as to connect with the larger academic community through research talks, workshops and seminars.  In addition, SEEPAC’s scholars are intimately connected with the policy community, whether in Sacramento, Washington, Brussels or Beijing.  SEEPAC Director Lawrence Goulder is a lead author and Senior Fellow Charles Kolstad is a convening lead author for the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (co-recipient of the 2007 Nobel Peace Prize).

Join our mailing list to stay up to date with us.